Society News | IEEE Power & Energy Magazine
IEEE Power & Energy Society

Society News

IEEE Awards

Congratulate the Four PES Member Recipients

Four IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) members have been chosen to receive 2014 IEEE awards:

  • Thomas A. Lipo, 2014 IEEE Power Engineering Medal
  • Willem Boone, 2014 IEEE Herman Halperin Electric Transmission and Distribution Award
  • Hamid A. Toliyat, 2014 IEEE Nikola Tesla Award
  • Wanda K. Reder, 2014 Richard M. Emberson Award

Their citations and photos are presented below.

2014 IEEE Power Engineering Medal

Thomas A. Lipo

For contributions to electrical machine and drive topologies.

Thomas A. Lipo

Thomas A. Lipo

An international authority on the design and analysis of electric machines and power electronics drives for over 40 years, Thomas A. Lipo’s innovative contributions have advanced the state of the art and improved the efficiency and reliability of motors and drives. Prof. Lipo began his pioneering work in 1968 with the analysis, simulation, and control of early ac motor drives, impacting electric traction control for subway cars and open pit mining equipment, among other applications. He has pioneered or improved upon electrical machine topologies, including flux switched machines, high torque vernier machines, axial flux permanent magnet machines, brushless doubly fed reluctance machines, open winding machines, and double air gap machines. He also pioneered modern, multiphase fault-tolerant machines, demonstrating that a new family of five-phase induction and synchronous reluctance motors could provide more torque and higher robustness compared to traditional three-phase motors. His work with his students on permanent magnet motors has provided a key element for the design of traction applications in hybrid and electric vehicles, known as the “characteristic current.” Also among his trend-setting research that has helped move power technology from concept to practical applications, he and his students were the first to investigate methods of eliminating the effects of input voltage unbalance on motor drives. This work has been widely referenced and used in many commercial applications. In 1980, he cofounded the Wisconsin Electric Machines and Power Electronics Consortium at the University of Wisconsin, which has become an internationally renowned collaborative effort of industry sponsors, professors, and students in the research and development of new power electronics technologies.

An IEEE Life Fellow and member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and the U.K. Royal Academy of Engineering, Lipo is an emeritus professor at the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

2014 IEEE Herman Halperin Electric Transmission and Distribution Award

Willem Boone

Willem Boone

Willem Boone

For successful international leadership and guidance in understanding critical factors affecting power cable life and in improving diagnostic test procedures.

Willem Boone’s pioneering diagnostic and condition-assessment methods for power cables have been invaluable to the electric power industry in determining product life and avoiding electrical failure. Among his major contributions was his development of testing methods to detect water treeing in both aged and new cables. Water treeing can advance degradation and lead to electrical failure in buried or water-immersed high-voltage cables. His methods aide utility companies in determining when to replace existing cables. For testing new cables, he created a high-frequency (500 Hz) accelerated method, which reduced the aging test duration to four months compared to approximately two years. Boone has also improved partial discharge detection tools helpful in estimating remaining cable life, and he has been very active in preparing related international user guides and standards within CIGRE and IEC.

An IEEE Senior Member, Boone is a senior consultant with KEMA, Oosterbeek, The Netherlands.

2014 IEEE Nikola Tesla Award

Hamid A. Toliyat

Hamid A. Toliyat

Hamid A. Toliyat

For contributions to the design, analysis, and control of fault-tolerant multiphase electric machines.

Hamid A. Toliyat’s pioneering development of multiphase induction motors has provided industry with more reliable and efficient power alternatives for transportation applications. His cutting-edge work on fault-tolerant five-phase motors during the late 1980s improved on traditional three-phase motors. He demonstrated that multiphase motors can produce more than a 15% improvement in torque while using the same amount of copper and iron as in three-phase machines. Multiphase machines are also more fault tolerant, resulting in more reliable operation. He also extended his work to synchronous and permanent magnet motors, realizing the same benefits. His contributions are integral to today’s electric motor applications for aircraft, electric and hybrid vehicles, and electric ship propulsion.

An IEEE Fellow, he is a professor and the director of the Electric Power and Electronics Program at Texas A&M University, College Station.

Wanda K. Reder

Wanda K. Reder

2014 Richard M. Emberson Award

Wanda K. Reder

For leadership in the IEEE Smart Grid program and in the continued growth of the IEEE Power and Energy Society, including the creation of its Scholarship Fund.

An IEEE Fellow, Wanda Reder is vice president, S&C Electric Company, Chicago, Illinois, United States.

PES Elections

The IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) Governing Board approved the candidates recommended by the Nominations and Appointments Committee, chaired by Past President Noel Schulz, for the positions of Division VII director-elect for 2015 and Division VII director for 2016–2017. The approved candidates for the respective offices are the following:

  • John Paserba
  • Alan Rotz.

Voting members of the PES may, by petition, propose names to be added to the ballot for this office. Contact Carrie Loh ( for more details.

In This Issue

Feature Articles

Departments & Columns

Upcoming Issue Themes