Awards | IEEE Power & Energy Magazine
IEEE Power & Energy Society


PES Fellows

congratulations to the class of 2012

The IEEE Fellow Award is a special recognition for members with extraordinary accomplishments in the IEEE technical fields. To ensure that the recognition is extraordinary, the total number of recipients each year cannot exceed 0.1% of the total higher grade membership.

The Class of 2012

As chair of the IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) Fellow Committee, I congratulate the following outstanding PES members for their accomplishments.

Rambabu Adapa

For leadership in dc and flexible ac transmission systems.

George Arnold

For leadership in architecture and protocols for the electric grid and telecommunication networks.

Christoph Brunner

For development of global standards for substation automation and smart grids.

Ronnie Chu

For contributions to power systems planning.

Kara Clark

For contributions to modeling of wind power generation.

Abdel-Aty Edris

For leadership in applications of flexible alternating current transmission systems to extra-high-voltage networks.

Erich Gunther

For contributions to the development and standardization of techniques for electric power quality.

Kunihiko Hidaka

For contributions to measurement and electrical insulation technologies in high-voltage engineering.

John Kay

For contributions to arc resistant medium voltage control and protection technologies.

Haran Karmaker

For contributions to the analysis, design, and standards of large electrical machines.

Mark Lauby

For leadership in the development and application of techniques for bulk power system reliability.

Mark McGranaghan

For contributions to the analysis of power quality issues.

Chunting (Chris) Mi

For contributions to hybrid electric -vehicle modeling and power control.

Farnoosh Rahmatian

For contributions to optical voltage and current sensors in high-energy electric power systems.

Wanda Reder

For leadership in power engineering implementation and workforce development.

Nisheeth Singh

For contributions to online control and analysis for power systems.

Joel Spira

For leadership in developing and commercializing light control technologies.

Remus Teodorescu

For contributions to grid-connected renewable energy converter systems technology.

In This Issue

Feature Articles

Departments & Columns

Upcoming Issue Themes